Sunday, July 17, 2011

Club Focus - Biggleswade Town

On Tuesday night Ely City take on Southern League Division 1 Central side Biggleswade Town.

Biggleswade were formed in 1874 and started off playing mainly friendly matches at their Fairfield Road Ground, which they shared with a local cricket team. In 1902 they became founder members of the Biggleswade and District League, which they were also the first champions of.

In 1920 the club joined the Northamptonshire League, despite being based in Bedfordshire. However, the league was l to become the United Counties League in 1934 and today takes in clubs from several counties, although the majority are in Northamptonshire. in 1945 they joined the Spatan League before returning to the United Counties League in 1951. They also had a short stint betweeen 1955 and 1963 in the Eastern Counties League where they broke the record for the biggest victory when they beat Newmarket Town 12-0. A record which still stands today. In 1963 they returned to the UCL mainly because of the extra travel costs of playing teams mainly from Norfolk, Suffolk and Essex in the ECL.

In 1980 Biggleswade joined the newly formed Southern Midlands League. They started out in the Premier League, but were relegated in 1983 before gaining promotion again in 1987. In 1997 the Spartan League and the Southern Midland League joined together, Biggleswade joined the Premier Division North. They bobbed around the divisions but were mainly in the Premier.

In 2006 the club left Fairfield Road and groundshared with Bedford United & Valerio. The season after they moved into the swanky Carlesberg Stadium on Langford Road and it seemed to do the trick with them beating Luton Town 3-2 in the final of the Bedfordshire Senior Cup and the year after they gained promotion to the Southern League Midlands Division.

No comments: